June 20th: Built a Hive Stand for an Eight Frame Hive

In anticipation of splitting my hive later this summer, and going to all medium-depth, eight-frame hive bodies, I built another hive stand.  This hive stand is the correct width for an eight-frame hive.  I also assembled another 10-frame, medium depth hive body.  I need to get the bees up and out of the 10-frame, deep-body, brood box – at the bottom of my original (and first, and so far only) hive – and onto the medium-depth frames.  After that, I can transfer those medium-depth frames to 8-frame boxes.  My goal is to move to all 8-frame, medium-depth hive bodies for everything.

Leave a Reply

